Defending Drivers Facing First-Time Drunk Driving Charges
If you’ve been charged with a first-time DUI offense in New Jersey, you probably have many questions. What penalties could you face? What impact could a conviction have on your life? What are the long-term implications? The more you dwell on the unknowns that lie ahead, the scarier your situation can seem.
At The Law Office of Mallon & Tranger, our attorneys are here to help you find the answers you’re looking for. Drivers who work with a Point Pleasant DUI lawyer like ours come away feeling informed, empowered and ready to fight their drunk driving charges head-on.
What Are The Penalties For A First-Time DUI In New Jersey?
Among other things, you may be wondering, should I get a lawyer for my first DUI? In our opinion, the answer is a resounding yes. The penalties for your first-time DUI offense can include:
- Fines ranging from $250 to $400 plus additional fines
- Up to 30 days in jail
- A three-month driver’s license suspension period
- Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID)
- A minimum of 12 hours over two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- Increased car insurance rates
The penalties mentioned above apply to drivers discovered with a blood alcohol content (BAC) between 0.08 and .10.
How likely is jail time for a first DUI offense? It’s up to the court’s discretion and depends on the circumstances. Generally, the more severe the offense is, the more likely a judge will order jail time.
Enhanced Penalties For First-Time DUI Charges
First-time offenders discovered with BACs above .10 experience more severe penalties. These include:
- Fines ranging from $300 to $500 plus additional fines
- A minimum seven-month up to a year-long driver’s license suspension period
The penalties listed above are in addition to the regular first-time DUI penalties, including up to 30 days in jail, mandatory installation of an IID, attendance at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and increased car insurance rates.
If a minor under 18 was in the car with you at the time of the offense, you could face an aggravated DUI charge and additional penalties.
Are You Ready To Fight Your Drunk Driving Charges?
If you’ve been charged with a first-time DUI, you must act quickly. The sooner you get legal help, the greater the chances of a successful legal defense. Contact our office for a free consultation with a Freehold DUI attorney to get started. You can reach us by phone at 732-702-0333 or on our website.