In New Jersey, reckless driving is a serious offense, with the potential for five insurance points, as well as five points on your driving record. You won't risk the automatic loss of driving privileges if you are convicted of reckless driving, but the court has the discretion to temporarily take away your license. In addition, the points you receive can lead to the suspension of your driving privileges, a fine of up to $200 and up to 60 days in jail.
A Toms River, New Jersey, woman hired to look after a baby boy for a few hours, was found upon the mother's return passed out - after having drank to excess. Susan Porfido Gibson, 50, left the child crying in a soiled diaper while she drank, and then slept.
Phillip Tomsic, A former Lincoln University student, has been given a sentence that is beyond minimum sentencing guidelines. Tomsic will serve five to 10 years behind bars for a November 2011 crash near the southeastern Pennsylvania campus that killed one friend and seriously injured another. The Chester County judge went beyond the minimum sentencing guidelines on Thursday for 23-year-old Tomsic as a warning to young people who drink and drive. Tomsic was convicted in August of charges including vehicular homicide and aggravated assault while driving under the influence, involuntary manslaughter and reckless endangerment. Prosecutors said Tomsic hit a tree at more than 85 miles an hour. His friend Anthony Washington was killed instantly and friend Kadeem Fulmore lost his right foot and his left leg and suffered brain injury and severe burns. Fulmore is still hospitalized.
When you are stopped for suspicion of drunk driving, you may be asked at some point to submit to a field sobriety test. You may be uncertain whether you have the right to refuse to take a field sobriety test or if there are consequences to a refusal. This blog post addresses these issues.