A driver who possesses a commercial driver’s license (CDL) is held to a higher standard than a regular motorist. In New Jersey, if CDL a holder has a blood alcohol level (BAC) measured at .04 or higher, he or she is over the legal limit and can have the CDL suspended.
Penalties are severe for commercial drivers convicted of drunk driving. A first-time conviction on DUI or DWI charges will cause you to lose your commercial driver’s license for one year. Even if you were in a private vehicle when you were arrested, your commercial license will still be suspended if you are convicted.
Conviction on a second drunk driving charge in New Jersey will result in a lifetime revocation of your CDL and a personal driver’s license suspension for two years. After 10 years, you can apply for your CDL to be reinstated, but it is not guaranteed to happen.
Refusing to take the DUI breath test can also result in a loss of your CDL. If you refuse you will be considered in violation of the DWI Refusal Statute. In situations like these, your license may be suspended for seven months or more, with fines up to $1,000.
If you hold a CDL, it is likely that you may make your living by driving a commercial vehicle. Don’t make the mistake of assuming that a DWI arrest means you will be found guilty.
There are many ways to successfully fight a DUI charge. The police officer may not have had a reasonable excuse to pull you over. The sobriety test may not be reliable. The officer who pulled you over may not have credibility in the court when it comes to drunk driving arrests. Mistakes could have been made with the breath test. An experienced lawyer who has successfully represented clients holding CDLs who have been accused of drunk driving can help.
CDL Holders Defense against Charges of Drunk Driving
At the Law Office of Mallon and Tranger, in Freehold, New Jersey, we understand what’s at stake with a CDL drunk driving case. We have the experience, skill and knowledge to mount a strong defense in protection of your CDL and your rights.