Being convicted for DUI is different in New Jersey than other states in some respects. Many states focus on ceasing driving privileges and potential jail time and significant fines based the number of offenses, all of which are typically criminal matters. New Jersey lists DUI cases as traffic violations, which means it will not show up on any criminal background report. However it will stay on any driving history for 10 years, and any subsequent DUI during that time will be considered a multiple offense when sentencing is applied.
First DWI offenders can expect a fine of up to $400 along with substantial fees associated with the conviction. All convicted drivers must complete training at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center that last two consecutive days. Driving privileges are suspended until an IID is installed in the personal vehicle of the defendant for 30 days. Jail time of up to 30 days can be assigned based on the material case factors.
Second offense drunk driving convictions can increase fines to $500 with an extended IID period of one year. Incarceration of up to 30 days can also be ordered with an additional insurance surcharge for the year at $1000. IDRC completion is again required. Additionally drivers with higher BAC readings can be penalized even harsher in all categories.
Penalties get very serious with a third conviction. The first step is an 8-year driving privilege suspension with IID required during entire period and beyond. Incarceration can be up to six months with 90 days in a rehabilitation center. The fine is set at $1000 with enhanced fees and a $1500 insurance surcharge.
There are also other additional fines and fees that can be applied based on the seriousness of the charge and other factors in the case. DUI accidents cases can carry additional charges and penalties.