• Free Consultations Available
  • Call 732-702-0333 Today
  • Se habla Español

WEAPONS OFFENSES IN NEW JERSEY

The New Jersey legislature has set forth four specific types of situations where you can potentially violate state weapons laws:

  • Possession of prohibited weapons
  • Illegal possession of permitted weapons
  • Possession of a weapon for an illegal purpose
  • Illegal possession based on your personal status

At the Law Offices of Mallon & Tranger, we have zealously protected the rights of people in New Jersey for more than 30 years, including individuals charged with weapons offenses. Contact us by e-mail or call us at 732-702-0333 . Your first visit is without cost or obligation.

WEAPONS THAT NO ONE MAY POSSESS

New Jersey law identifies a wide range of weapons for which no permit may be issued. These prohibited weapons are divided into categories, and the potential penalty for possession depends primarily on how dangerous the weapon is considered to be. Among the weapons that fall in this category are:

  • Certain firearms or firearm-related products, such as stun guns, silencers, hollow bullets and defaced firearms, such as a sawed-off shotgun
  • Different types of blades, from switchblades and stilettos to gravity knives, dirks, ballistic knives and daggers
  • Billy clubs, blackjacks, metal or iron knuckles, or sandclubs
  • Slingshots
  • Leather bands or gloves (cestus) with metal filings, plates or razor blades attached or embedded

POSSESSION OF LEGAL WEAPONS WITHOUT A LICENSE OF PERMIT

The state of New Jersey requires a license or permit to carry or possess certain firearms, including rifles, handguns, shotguns, machine guns, and assault weapons. In addition, the possession of some firearms carries geographical restrictions. For example, it may be a violation of the law to have a firearm in any part of a school, even if you have a permit to carry it. The law even makes it a violation to have an imitation weapon on the premises of a school with or without a permit.

POSSESSION OF A WEAPON IN THE COMMISSION OF A CRIME

You can be charged separately for carrying a weapon while committing another offense. For example, if you rob someone and brandish a weapon, you can be charged with both robbery and with a weapons crime. The penalties for using a weapon in the commission of a crime range from 18 months to 10 years in prison.

ILLEGAL POSSESSION BASED ON PERSONAL STATUS

Under New Jersey law, some people may not possess a weapon under any circumstances. This applies primarily to people who have been convicted of a crime, or who have previously been committed to a mental hospital or facility. This prohibition does not apply if the prior conviction was for a disorderly persons offense.

CONTACT MALLON & TRANGER

We offer a free initial consultation to anyone in New Jersey facing criminal charges. For a meeting, contact us online or call us at 732-702-0333 for an appointment. We have offices in Freehold, Toms River and Point Pleasant.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Each and every case that we take gets our full attention. When you hire us, you know you have experienced
attorneys doing everything we can to put you and your case in the best possible position for a positive resolution.

Email Us For A Response

How Can We Help You?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Freehold map image
Toms River map image
Point Pleasant map image

Freehold
86 Court Street
Freehold, NJ 07728

Phone: 732-702-0333
Fax: 732-780-5002
Freehold Law Office Map

Point Pleasant
3247 Route 88
Point Pleasant, NJ 08742

Phone: 732-702-0333
Fax: 732-780-5002
Map & Directions

Toms River
250 Washington Street
Toms River, NJ 08753

Phone: 732-702-0333
Fax: 732-780-5002
Map & Directions