• Free Consultations Available
  • Call 732-702-0333 Today
  • Se habla Español

SEX CRIMES IN NEW JERSEY

AGGRAVATED SEXUAL ASSAULT IN NEW JERSEY

New Jersey is the home of Megan's Law, a statute enacted in 1994 that requires anyone convicted of a sex crime in the state to register as a sex offender. The state of New Jersey has a fairly intricate system for determining whether a sex offense will be charged as aggravated sexual assault. If you are under investigation for or have been charged with aggravated sexual assault, you want an experienced and assertive lawyer to protect your rights. We can help.
At the Law Offices of Mallon & Tranger, we bring nearly three decades of experience to people throughout New Jersey who face charges of sex crimes, including aggravated sexual assault. To set up an appointment, contact us online or call our office at 732-702-0333.

AGGRAVATED SEXUAL ASSAULT IN NEW JERSEY

Aggravated sexual assault is a serious offense in New Jersey, with a potential penalty of 10 to 20 years in prison. There are a number of circumstances in which you can be charged with aggravated sexual assault, all requiring an act of sexual penetration. The specific instances in which you can be charged with aggravated sexual assault include:

  • The victim is less than 13 years of age
  • The victim is at least 13 years old, but under the age of 16, and the perpetrator is a blood relative, guardian or legal parent of the victim, or someone who occupies a position of control or authority over the victim
  • The perpetrator uses a weapon or threatens to use a weapon
  • The perpetrator uses physical force or coercion, or has others aid in bringing about the sexual penetration
  • The act is committed in the course of an aggravated assault (on another person), kidnapping, robbery, burglary, arson, homicide or criminal escape
  • The victim was physically helpless or mentally incapacitated at the time of the assault

If you have been charged with aggravated sexual assault, there are specific defenses you can raise. Unless the victim was a minor, you may raise the defense of consent, i.e., that the victim willingly participated in the act. Additionally, you can argue mistaken identity. A police lineup or a DNA test may support your innocence.

CONTACT MALLON & TRANGER

To learn how we can help defend you against an aggravated sexual assault charge, contact us online or call us at 732-702-0333. There is no charge for your first meeting. We have offices in Freehold, Toms River and Point Pleasant.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Each and every case that we take gets our full attention. When you hire us, you know you have experienced
attorneys doing everything we can to put you and your case in the best possible position for a positive resolution.

Email Us For A Response

How Can We Help You?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Freehold map image
Toms River map image
Point Pleasant map image

Freehold
86 Court Street
Freehold, NJ 07728

Phone: 732-702-0333
Fax: 732-780-5002
Freehold Law Office Map

Point Pleasant
3247 Route 88
Point Pleasant, NJ 08742

Phone: 732-702-0333
Fax: 732-780-5002
Map & Directions

Toms River
250 Washington Street
Toms River, NJ 08753

Phone: 732-702-0333
Fax: 732-780-5002
Map & Directions